Morish in Morwell

Leave a comment

October 28, 2012 by FoodFloozy

The Place: Gastronomy

Address: 15 Church Street, Morwell, Vic

Cost: Ranging from $8.50 (for the soup) to just over $30 for steak – we viewed the lunchtime menu only, but all menu’s are available on their website.

Hours: Tuesday to Friday lunch and dinner; Saturday dinner.

Style: Traditional Australian

Rating: Match made in Heaven (5/5)

No doubt about it, Morwell gets cold – damn cold. And bloody windy too! I think it would be rather successful swapping the brown coal plants for turbines, but hey, what do I know? 😉

Anyway, I was visiting Mum and decided to take her out for lunch. At this point I have to admit that I’ve been happily shocked into tasty submission yet again in this little town – I’m yet to have a crappy food experience here – so coal power plants aside, the Mowell’iens are damn fine cooks/chefs/taste creators!

The Food
Being a chilly day, Mum and I were in the mood for something that warms you to your toes – soup of course! And what better soup than Pea and Ham? There isn’t one and I’ll argue that till I’m pink with the effort! Served hot with generously buttered soft seeded bread (see picture at start of post), this was a real treat and 100% what we wanted.

We also had a sweet, which was their Meringue Roulade with berry compote and vanilla ice cream – it was really yummy, but so sweet I’m sure my eyes dilated! 😀 Definately for sweet tooths (my Mum loved it).

And everything else?
The ambiance of this place is fantastically old school – you almost expect to see cowboys drinking shots and wenches walking around the place. They even had their own old style safe! The service was really attentive and friendly too.

Food Envy?
We were snugly tucked away in a corner perfect for a catch up between a daughter and the worlds best Mum, so we didn’t see much of what other people had, however I am determined to go back for dinner one day.

We were warmed to the core with food made from the heart; you can’t ask for more than that. A match made in heaven. 🙂

Gaztronomy on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow KC\'s Food Affairs and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other subscribers